16 disqualified Karnataka MLAs from Congress and JD(S) joined the ruling party (BJP) in the presence of chief minister BS Yedurappa.

KR Ramesh Kumar, the Assembly Speaker, had disqualified 17 rebel MLAs of the then ruling coalition which was upheld by the Supreme Court on Wednesday. Nonetheless the disqualified legislators are allowed to contest the upcoming assembly byelections to be held on December 5. The polls are to be held for 15 out of the 17 seats. However, the Former MLA who is facing charges in the IMA scam, Roshan Baig, did not join the saffron party.

Some of the disqualified MLAs had met the BJP national general secretary, BL Santosh, in Delhi hours after the SC delivered its verdict. Deputy CM, CN Ashwath Narayan, announced that the rebel leaders will join the party. He had accompanied the disqualified MLAs.

Some sources said that BJP Chief Amit Shah held a meeting in Delhi to discuss the situation in Karnataka. The main agenda was to decide on how many rebels should get the BJP tickets for the upcoming bypolls. They also discussed about how to make sure that the denial of tickets does not affect the Karnataka government.

The Ancient Times

Because we’re journalists, we’re impatient. We want to gather the news as quickly as possible, using any technological resource available. And when we’re as sure of the story as we can be, we want to share it immediately, in whatever way reaches the most people. The Internet didn’t plant these ideas in our heads. We’ve always been this way.

Leave a Reply